Start Planning
屠妖节

2019与2020年屠妖节

屠妖节,也称为“排灯节”是所有印度节日中最重要的,每年世界各地的印度教徒都会普天同庆,包括5%左右的新加坡印度教徒。

日期公共假期
201910月27日星期日屠妖节
10月28日星期一屠妖节 (补假)
202011月14日星期六屠妖节

在节日里,公共场所都会挂满各种各样的彩色灯,屋里也会摆上许多粘土灯照亮住宅。这象征着印度教的宗教概念“光明征服黑暗”。

在某一些国家,最着名的是印度,屠妖节可长达5天,但在新加坡和大多数国家都只庆祝1天。日期会移动,因为它是根据印度教日历而定,但它通常是在10月中旬和11月中旬之间。

在印度教的传说中,屠妖节要纪念的是什么,这仍然是一个悬而未决的问题,往往人们会给出不同的答案。有人说,它是庆祝拉玛在被他邪恶的继母流亡到孤独森林土地14年后重新夺回王位。其他人认为这一天是为了祭拜《Mahalakshmi》,印度教里掌管光明、运气和繁荣的女神。然而,大多数情况下,屠妖节的背景故事来源是克里希纳在一场史诗般的战斗中击败了邪恶的Narakasura,并解救印度马杜拉的人民,之后人民用点燃的油灯来欢迎胜利者。

印度教徒在屠妖节的宗教仪式包括在黎明醒来以油沐浴,穿上五颜六色的衣物,并且去一个当地的印度寺庙祈祷。在家里,粘土油灯处处点亮,门上铺满了绿色的芒果叶,在地板上绘画由染米或面粉制成的色彩缤纷设计称之为《Rangoli》。房子也会彻底清洗一番,然后挂上鲜花和其他五颜六色的装饰。

食物在屠妖节的庆祝活动也备受瞩目。在新加坡,你可以期待这样的菜肴,如裹满糖浆的油炸面团,米粉煎饼,扁豆蛋糕,酸奶和由绿豆制成的糖果。

在市场上会有多个大大的摊位,购物者将从每一侧挤入。出售的主要包括:花环,珠宝,各种纪念品和工艺品。也将有许多手画家,将亲手使用着当地制作的指甲花染料,绘花和其他设计在你的手上 。

屠妖节在新加坡最具代表性的景点莫过于横跨石龙岗路的“小印度”区。在这一区的灯光,集市和庆祝活动是新加坡其余地方无法媲美的。然而,10%的新加坡人是印度裔,5%是印度教徒,许多其他人选择加入此庆祝活动,所以屠妖节变成整个城市的大活动。

  • 参观沿着石龙岗路两个着名印度寺庙的屠妖节灯光和装饰。第一个是Sri Veeramakaliamman神庙,建于1855年,供奉印度教女神“卡利”。其壮观的塔楼,挂满铃铛的大门,和雕刻了无数印度神像的天花板更是不容错过。第二个是《Sri Mariamman》神庙,也是一年一度举办火步行节的寺庙。训练有素的参与者会走过热煤“展示他们已经达到了纯度的境界”。第二天,银色战车游行也将在同一个寺庙举行。也就是说,带有女神《Draupadai》的战车将从这个寺庙开始穿越在小印度的路上。印度教徒相信这游行赋予了社区祝福。
  • 在屠妖节,新加坡有两个有趣的购物地点供选择。首先,你应该光临《Mustafa》中心,一间24小时开放的商场。你可以在这个商场里找到几乎任何想象得到的东西,从珍贵的金首饰到基本的杂货。它在屠妖节时可能会非常拥挤,但如果你有自己的方式穿梭人群,你会发现这是一个值得的购物体验。
  • 接下来,你几乎必定会想参观《Deepavali Festival Village》,这是位于《Hastings》路的一个集市,是屠妖节购物的缩影,拥有各种饰品和独特的纪念品。它还有丰富多彩适合在屠妖节穿的服装和无尽的食品摊位,你可以品尝正宗的新加坡印度街头食品。这个集市占地超过15000平方英尺,拥有丰富多样的摊位,所以你可以花上几个小时来探索一切。
  • 在小印度和其他地方的餐厅品尝正宗的印度菜。赛马场路一区就排满了这些餐馆,所以想找它们很方便。拥有新加坡几个世纪的多彩咖喱和辣菜将等待你来发掘。在新加坡尝试印度美食的最好地点有:《Kinara》和《Yantra》“别致与现代”的印度佳肴,在一个殖民地时代的洋房里,听着休闲的传统印度音乐,享用豪华的印度餐,这就是《Anjappar Singapore》 餐厅的“舒适美食”,《Muthu’s Curry》 是当地着名的“咖喱鱼头”餐厅,和在《Banana Leaf Apolo》享用以香蕉叶代替盘子的美食。

在新加坡,只有12分之1的人口是印度教徒,然而,整个岛屿庆祝屠妖节的方式,将会让你记忆深刻。最精彩的活动是在小印度,但你也可以在遍布灯光和装饰的全岛找到其他活动。

Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning

Deepavali 2016 and 2017

Deepavali, also called “Diwali” is the most important of all Hindu festivals and is celebrated by Hindus worldwide every year, including the five percent or so of Singaporeans who follow Hinduism.

201629 OctSatDeepavali
201718 OctWedDeepavali

The meaning of “Deepavali” is “Festival of Lights,” and the holiday abounds with all manner of colourful lights displays in public and numerous clay lamps to light up private homes. This is meant to symbolise the Hindu religious concept of “light conquering darkness.”

In some countries, most notably India, Deepavali goes on for as long as five days, but in Singapore, most celebrate for only a single day. The date moves since it is based on the Hindu Calendar, but it generally comes between mid-October and mid-November.

What precisely in the Hindu legends that Deepavali commemorates is something of an open question, to which different answers are often given. Some say it celebrates the return of Rama to his throne after a 14-year banishment to the lonely forest lands by his evil stepmother. Others see the day as connected with the worship of Mahalakshmi, the Hindu goddess of light, good fortune, and prosperity. Most, however, take Deepavali's background story to be the defeat of the wicked Narakasura by Krishna in an epic battle that ended in the people of Madura, India, welcoming the victor with lit up oil lamps.

Religious rituals for Hindus on Deepavali include waking up at dawn to bath in oil, dressing up in colourful clothing, and going to a local temple for prayers. At home, clay oil lamps are lit, doors are decked out with green mango leaves, and colourful designs called “rangoli,” which are made of dyed rice or flours, are drawn on the floor. Homes are also thoroughly cleaned and adorned with flowers and other colorful decorations.

Food also looms large in Deepavali celebrations. In Singapore, you can expect such dishes as deep-fried dough covered in syrup, rice-flour pancakes, lentil cakes, yogurts, and sweets made out of mung beans.

In the markets, the stalls will greatly multiply, and shoppers will crowd in from every side. Some of the main fare for sale will include: flower garlands, jewellery, and various souvenirs and crafts. There will also be many hand painters more than happy to draw flowers and other designs on your hands using locally made henna dyes.

The number one symbols of Deepavali in Singapore are the two large arches that span the Serangoon Road in the “Little India” district. The lights, bazaars, and celebrations in this part of town are unmatched in the remainder of Singapore. Nonetheless, with 10 percent of Singaporeans being of Indian descent, five percent being Hindu, and many others choosing to join in the celebrations, Deepavali is a big event throughout the whole city.

  • See two famous Hindu temples along the Serangoon Road and their Deepavali lights and decorations. The first is the Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple, built in 1855 and dedicated to the Hindu goddess “Kali.” Its imposing tower, doors covered in bells, and ceilings bedecked with countless statues of Hindu gods are quite a sight. The second is the Sri Mariamman Temple, which is the site of the annual Fire Walking Festival. The well trained participants walk over hot coals “to demonstrate the level of purity to which they have attained.” On the next day, the Silver Chariot Procession will take place at the same temple. That is, the chariot that bears the goddess Draupadai will start off from this temple on its way to Little India. Hindus believe this procession bestows blessings on the community.
  • Two great places to shop in Singapore during Deepavali are our next items of interest. First, you should stop by the Mustafa Centre, a mall that is open for 24 hours a day. You can find nearly anything imaginable in this mall, ranging from precious gold jewellery to basic groceries. It will likely be packed for Deepavali, but if you can work your way through the crowds, you will find it is a worthwhile shopping experience.
  • Next, you will almost certainly want to visit Deepavali Festival Village, a bazaar on Hastings Road that is the epitome of Deepavali shopping and has all manner of trinkets and unique souvenirs. It also has colourful clothing fit for donning during Deepavali and an endless array of food stalls where you can taste authentic Indian-Singaporean street food. The bazaar covers over 15,000 square feet and has an abundance of diverse stalls, so you can explore it literally for hours on end.
  • Taste authentic Indian dishes in restaurants throughout Little India and beyond. Race Course Road is lined with such restaurants from ones side to the other, so they will not be hard to find. Colourful curries and spicy dishes eaten in Singapore for centuries are awaiting your discovery. Some of the best places to try for good Indian food in Singapore include: Kinara and Yantra for “chic, modern“ Indian cuisine, Song of India for luxury dining in a building designed like a colonial-era bungalow, Anjappar Singapore for laid back, traditional Indian “comfort food,” Muthu's Curry for their locally famous “fish head curry dish,” and the Banana Leaf Apolo for a menu full of dishes served on banana leaves instead of plates.

In Singapore, only one-twentieth of the population is Hindu, and yet, the whole island comes alive for Deepavali in a way you will not soon forget. The most intense action is in Little India, but you will find events, lights, and decorations throughout the island.